If you don\’t play to win, why play at all?


Perplexed
February 27, 2010, 5:15 am
Filed under: BJJ Brazilian Jiu-jitsu
I was watching some videos from the Euro BJJ Championships over the weekend and I came across this clip where both of the competitors were disqualified — in the black belt division!  I watched the whole video and I’m clearly perplexed as to why the referee ended it that way.

What do you think of this?

Advertisements

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

They got DQ’ed because they thought it was a judo contest. Seriously though, who knows? Maybe the ref got so bored, he decided to liven things up with a controversial double DQ.

Comment by Meerkatsu

I’ve read the IBJJF rules a couple of times as my coach helped in updating it recently, and it sure doesn’t include any reason for disqualification such as this. I was thinking the guy in white gi could have been penalized because he was disengaging as he kept on running towards the safety mat area, but why DQ both of them?

Maybe you’re right, the ref wants a little bit of something to be talked about 🙂

Comment by jonna




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: